LEED Standard

LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) is an internationally recognized environment friendly building certification system, developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC).

LEED provides a third-party to verify that a building or community was designed and built using the strategies intended to improve performance such as energy savings, water efficiency, CO2 emissions reduction, improved indoor air quality, and efficient resource utilization and sensitivity to their impacts.

Today, LEED consists of a suite of rating systems for the design, construction and operation of buildings, homes and neighborhoods divided into five credit categories:

1. Sustainable Sites (13%)
2. Water Efficiency (9%)
3. Energy and Atmosphere (32%)
4. Materials and Resources (13%)
5. Indoor Environmental Quality (14%)
An additional 5% are awarded for Design Innovation and 3% for Regional Priority.

Four Certification Levels

• Certified: 40–49 points

• Silver: 50–59 points

• Gold: 60–79 points

• Platinum: 80 points and above

Image 8