SI-5281 Standard

Standard SI-5281 for Sustainable Buildings was approved by the Standards Institution of Israel in November 2005 and is targeted at architects, planners, developers and contractors.. The standard can be awarded to both new and renovated buildings that comply with the specific requirements and criteria, and are then certified as ‘Sustainable Buildings’.

The Sustainable Building Certification benefits both developers and consumers. It provides developers with a marketing advantage by validating the quality of their projects, and serves as a measure of the overall quality of the construction and its energy savings for consumers. The Sustainable Building Standard SI-5281 emphasizes Bio-Climatic and Passive Solar Architecture. It is unique in encouraging Passive and Low Energy Architecture and aims to:

• Reduce the impact of buildings on the environment
• Provide a higher quality of living for the building’s occupants
• Enables buildings to be recognized for their environmental benefits

SI-5281 consists of a series of Standards, each one setting out the characteristics for certifying different types of constructs with a reduced environmental impact. The SI-5281 for residential buildings includes the categories:

• Energy and Atmosphere (37%)
• Sustainable Sites (17%)
• Water Efficiency (17%)
• Materials and Resources (6%)
• Health & Well-being (10%)
• Waste (4%)
• Management (4%)
• Transportation (2%)
• Innovation in Design (3%)

Five Certification Levels

• Certified: 55-64 points

• Silver: 65-74 points

• Gold: 75-82 points

• Platinum: 83-89 points

• Diamond: 90 points and above


Image 7